National School Lunch Program

The National School Lunch Program (NSLP) was established through Federal legislation in 1946. Schools in Mississippi have participated in the NSLP since the beginning. The growth began after 1966, when the Child Nutrition Act became law. This legislation provided funding for needy children’s meals, guidelines for identifying the need, and a pilot breakfast program.

The funding through the 1970s was more than adequate to cover costs of operating the program. Many school districts accumulated healthy fund balances during these years. In 1981 the first major budget cut occurred. Since then, the paid student’s Federal reimbursement rates, which usually increased annually, have been frozen and the value of available USDA commodities has decreased.

To participate in the NSLP, a site must be recognized as an accredited school by the Mississippi Department of Education or operate as a licensed residential child care institution (RCCI).

For questions please call NSLP Staff at (601) 576-4955

Stephanie Robinson  Division Director snrobinson@mde.k12.ms.us
Tina Thomas Policy Analyst tthomas@mde.k12.ms.us
Shonula Wright Administrative Assistant sdwright@mde.k12.ms.us
Mary Burks Education School Food Service Supervisor, III mburks@mde.k12.ms.us
Bill Urban Education School Food Service Supervisor, III burban@mde.k12.ms.us 
Rodney Miller Education School Food Service Supervisor, III rmiller@mde.k12.ms.us
Jessie Bennett Accountant Auditor, III jbennett@mde.k12.ms.us 
Alvin Edney Education School Food Service Supervisor, III aedney@mde.k12.ms.us
Eric Gamble Education School Food Service Supervisor, III egamble@mde.k12.ms.us 
Marcus Ginn Education School Food Service Supervisor, III mcginn@mde.k12.ms.us
Cedra Smith  Education School Food Service Supervisor, III csmith@mde.k12.ms.us 
 Rosalyn Sparkman Accountant Auditor, III rsparkman@mde.k12.ms.us
     

Reimbursement Rates

Applicable Forms

Frequently Asked Questions

Vending

NSLP Free & Reduced Application Reports

Excess Balance sample resolution in PDF for read-only

For meal applications in other languages use the link: http://www.fns.usda.gov/cnd/FRP/frp.process.htm.

Languages available are: Arabic, Cambodian, Chinese (Mandarin), Farsi, French, Greek, Haitian, Hmong, Japanese, Korean, Laotian, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Samoan, Serbo-Croatian, Somali, Spanish, Sudanese, Tagalog, Thai, Urdu, and Vietnamese.

Official USDA NSLP Program Site

Office of Healthy Schools     P.O. Box 771     Jackson, MS 39205-0771     Phone: (601) 359-1737     Fax: (601) 576-1417
 

Copyright © 2012 Mississippi Department of Education – Agency Web DisclaimerNotice of Non-Discrimination