News Releases

Mississippi Teacher of the Year Will Be Announced Tuesday

by Patrice Guilfoyle, APR, Director of Communications | Apr 15, 2013


For Immediate Release: April 15, 2013

WHO: The Mississippi Department of Education and the Mississippi Teacher Center will announce the 2013 Mississippi Teacher of the Year (MTOY) at an annual luncheon. Dr. Lynn House, interim state superintendent of education, is scheduled to speak.

WHAT: The Teacher Center recognizes outstanding educators from across the state. Each school district selects a District Teacher of the Year. Following an intensive selection process, four congressional district winners are chosen from district award recipients. Finally, one teacher earns the MTOY recognition.

WHEN: Tuesday, April 16, noon

WHERE: Marriott Downtown in rooms Windsor II and III

WHY: Mississippi's Teacher of the Year receives a one-time $5,000 salary supplement from the Mississippi Department of Education and represents Mississippi in the National Teacher of the Year competition. In addition, the recipient travels to Washington, D.C., to meet the President and First Lady and participates in a Rose Garden recognition ceremony at the White House. 

The MTOY is also asked to share expertise through various presentations and activities for the improvement of education in the state.

The four congressional district finalists are as follows:

  • Kathy Farmer, Lake High School, Scott County School District
  • Tara Harris, Thomas St. Elementary , Tupelo Public School District
  • Joshua Lindsey, Hancock High School, Hancock County School District
  • Gwendolyn Milton, Gentry High School, Indianola School District


Office of Communications     P.O. Box 771     Jackson, MS 39205-0771     Phone: (601) 359-3515     Fax: (601) 359-3033

Copyright © 2012 Mississippi Department of Education
Website Accessibility StatementAgency Web DisclaimerNotice of Non-Discrimination