Members of the Task Force

Members of the task force are:

  • Dr. Carey Wright, State Superintendent of Education
  • Senate Education Chairman Gray Tollison
  • House Education Chairman Richard Bennett
  • Buddy Bailey, Mississippi State Board of Education
  • Sean Suggs, Mississippi State Board of Education
  • Kristina Pollard, principal, Earl Travillion Attendance Center, Forest County School District
  • Rachel Canter, executive director, Mississippi First
  • Dr. Tim Martin, Clinton Public Schools
  • Dr. Amy Carter, Meridian Public Schools
  • Dr. Eddie Peasant, Starkville-Oktibbeha Consolidated School District
  • Dr. Jennifer Wilson, Greenwood Public School District
  • Dr. Robyn Killebrew, 2017-18 Milken Educator, principal of Pass Christian High School
  • Dr. Howard Savage Jr., 2018 Administrator of the Year, principal of Quitman High School
  • Robert Sanders, principal, Mendenhall High School
  • Dr. Jessica Broome, 2017 Administrator of the Year, principal of Pearl Junior High School
  • Whitney Drewrey, 2018 Teacher of the Year, 3rd – 5th grade special education teacher at Lafayette Upper Elementary School, Lafayette County School District
  • Luke Daniels, 2017 Teacher of the Year, 6th grade mathematics teacher at Petal Upper Elementary in the Petal School District
  • Lora Rance Evans, 2016 Parent of the Year, Greenwood Public School District
  • Kelly Riley, executive director, Mississippi Professional Educators
  • Joyce Helmick, president, Mississippi Association of Educators
  • Rep. Randy Boyd, R-Mantachie
  • Steven Hampton, research and accountability director, Lamar County Schools
  • Krystal Cormack, chair, Mississippi Charter School Authorizer Board
  • Dr. Jay Smith, retired Long Beach School District superintendent


Ex-officio members

  • Dr. Kim Benton, chief academic officer, MDE
  • Dr. Paula Vanderford, chief accountability officer, MDE
  • Dr. Christy Hovanetz, Foundation for Excellence in Education
  • Dr. Chris Domaleski, associate director, Center for Assessment
  • Rebekah Staples, Lieutenant Governor’s Office
  • T.J. Taylor, Speaker of the House’s Office

Mississippi Department of Education     P.O. Box 771     Jackson, MS 39205-0771     General Information: 601-359-3513

Copyright © 2012 Mississippi Department of Education
Website Accessibility StatementAgency Web DisclaimerNotice of Non-Discrimination