Mississippi E-Rate

Urban / Renewal Status Of Mississippi Districts

Urban/Rural Status
of Mississippi Public Schools

Every school in the United States is located in either a rural or an urban area, based on the Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA) data. When you are calculating an individual school's
discount level, you must determine if the school is rural or urban in order to properly calculate its percentage discount.

Metropolitan Statistical Areas are defined by the U.S. Office of Managment and Budget (OMB). The MSA standards are revised beore each decennial Census. When Census data
becomes available, the standards are applied to define the actual MSAs. An MSA is a county or group of contiguous counties that contains at least one city with a population of 50,000
or more or includes a Census Bureau-defined urbanized area of at least 50,000 with a metropolitan population of at least 100,000. In addition to the county containing the main city or
urbanized area, an MSA may contain other counties that are metropolitan in character and are economically and socially integrated with the central counties. In New England, cities and
towns, rather than counties, are used to define MSAs. Metropolitan population is based on MSAs as defined by OMB in 1993 using the 1990 Census. 

Mississippi Metropolitan Area
Population, 1997
Memphis, TN (Includes DeSoto County, MS)

Each of the counties associated with each of these Metropolitan Areas is considered to be a part of the Metropolitan Area because, with the exception of New England, the MSA
includes the entire county. In some cases, the contiguous counties are also considered to be a part of the MSA.

The following counties in Mississippi are considered to be a part of a MSA: 

Counties included in Metropolita Area
MSA the county is associated with
DeSoto County
Memphis, TN
Forrest County
Hancock County
Harrison County
Hinds County
Jackson County
Lamar County
Madison County
Rankin County

**Because these counties are considered to be urban rather than rural, based on Census data, any districts within these counties must file as an urban school district
when filing for E-Rate discounts.**

The following counties in Mississippi are NOT considered to be a part of a MSA and are consequently considered rural: 

Adams County
Alcorn County
Amite County
Attala County
Benton County
Bolivar County
Calhoun County
Carroll County
Chickasaw County
Choctaw County
Claiborne County
Clarke County
Clay County
Coahoma County
Copiah County
Covington County
Franklin County
George County
Greene County
Grenada County
Holmes County
Humphreys County
Issaquena County
Itawamba County
Jasper County
Jefferson County
Jefferson Davis County
Jones County
Lafayette County
Lauderdale County
Lawrence County
Leake County
Lee County
Leflore County
Lincoln County
Lowndes County
Marion County
Marshall County
Monroe County
Montgomery County
Neshoba County
Newton County
Noxubee County
Oktibbeha County
Panola County
Pearl River County
Perry County
Pike County
Pontotoc County
Prentiss County
Quitman County
Scott County
Sharkey County
Simpson County
Smith County
Stone County
Sunflower County
Tallahatchie County
Tate County
Tippah County
Tishomingo County
Tunica County
Union County
Walthall County
Warren County
Washington County
Wayne County
Webster County
Wilkinson County
Winston County
Yalobusha County
Yazoo County

**Because these counties are onsidered to be rural, based on Census data, any districts within these counties must file as a rural school district when filing for E-Rate

Mississippi E-Rate Resources

Office of Technology and Strategic Services   P.O. Box 771     Jackson, MS 39205-0771     Phone: (601) 359-3487     Fax: (601) 359-2027

Copyright © 2012 Mississippi Department of Education
Website Accessibility StatementAgency Web DisclaimerNotice of Non-Discrimination