Mississippi Administrator of the Year (AOY
The Mississippi Administrator of the Year Program (MAOY) recognizes outstanding achievement and performance by Mississippi school administrators and brings effective administrative practices to the attention of others. Those eligible for the award include elementary and secondary school principals and vocational-technical directors. The AOY is asked to share expertise through various presentations and activities for the improvement of education in the state.

Click here to view a list of the past MAOYs.”

Mississippi Teacher of the Year
The Mississippi Teacher of the Year Program (MTOY) recognizes outstanding performance by our public school teachers. Each local school district may honor its teachers and nominate one for the state title. The MTOY must be a certified classroom teacher (with a standard K-12 license) in a state accredited public school that plans to teach the next year. The teacher should have a superior ability to inspire students, possess leadership capabilities, and be an active member of the community.

Click here to to view a list of the past MTOYs.

The Milken Educator Awards Program
Milken Educator Awards Program provides public recognition and financial rewards to elementary and secondary schoolteachers and principals and other education professionals who are furthering excellence in education. The Foundation presents the financial awards to new honorees during a gala celebration held at the annual Milken Family Foundation National Education Conference.

Click here to watch the video of Mississippi’s 2013 Milken Award recipient.


Mississippi Teacher Center     P.O. Box 771     Jackson, MS 39205-0771     Phone: (601) 359-3631     Fax: (601) 359-2778

Copyright © 2012 Mississippi Department of Education
Website Accessibility StatementAgency Web DisclaimerNotice of Non-Discrimination