Educator Licensure

Types of Mississippi Licenses

Teacher Education Route License
Five Year Educator License

Alternate Route Licenses
MS Alternate Path to Quality Educators
Teach MS Institute
Masters of Arts in Teaching 
American Board Certification

Special Five Year Educator Licenses
Child Development
Dyslexia Therapy
Emotional Disability
Guidance and Counseling
Library Media
Performing Arts
School Psychologist
Special Education Birth-Kindergarten
Speech/Language Clinician

Vocational Educator Licenses
Vocational Non-Degree/ Three Year License
Vocational Non-Education Degree (Associate Degree)/Three Year License
Vocational Non-Education Degree (Bachelor Degree)/ Three Year License
Vocational Educator License Non-Degree or
Non-Education Degree/ Five Year License

Licenses by District Request Only
One-Year License for Veteran Teachers

Administrator License
Entry Level
Career Level
Alternate Route

Two Year License
Five Year License

Class Levels of Mississippi Licenses

Class A = Bachelor’s degree level license
Class AA = Master’s degree level license
Class AAA = Specialist degree level license
Class AAAA = Doctorate degree level license

For a complete list of the areas in which Mississippi issues endorsements please refer to Appendix E: Mississippi Endorsement Codes in the online Licensure Guidelines K12.

Office of Educator Licensure     P.O. Box 771     Jackson, MS 39205-0771     Phone: (601) 359-3483     Fax: (601) 359-2778

Copyright © 2012 Mississippi Department of Education
Website Accessibility StatementAgency Web DisclaimerNotice of Non-Discrimination