Office of Academic Education

Dr. Kim Benton
Chief Academic Officer

The Office of Academic Education consists of eight program areas and four state schools:

Office of Compulsory School Attendance
Office of Elementary Education and Reading
Office of Federal Programs
Office of School District Consolidation
Office of Professional Development
Office of School Improvement
Office of Secondary Education and Career and Technical Education
Office of Special Education      
Mississippi School of the Arts
Mississippi School for the Blind
Mississippi School for the Deaf
Mississippi School of Mathematics and Science

All services and activities within the Office of Academic Education are designed to support the State Board of Education’s vision of creating a world class educational system that provides students the knowledge and skills to be successful in college and the workforce.  The six strategic goals that drive our work are:

  • All students proficient and showing growth in all assessed areas
  • Every student graduates high school and is ready for college and career
  • Every child has access to a high-quality early childhood program
  • Every school has effective teachers and leaders
  • Every community effectively using a work-class data system to improve student outcomes
  • Every School and District is Rated “C” or Higher

Office of Academic Education      P.O. Box 771     Jackson, MS 39205-0771     Phone: (601) 359-3077    

Copyright © 2012 Mississippi Department of Education
Website Accessibility StatementAgency Web DisclaimerNotice of Non-Discrimination