Mississippi Board of Education

The Mississippi Board of Education is made up of nine members. Each member is appointed according to the rules in the Mississippi Constitution. The Board appoints the State Superintendent of Education, sets public education policy and oversees the Mississippi Department of Education.

Section 203 of the Mississippi Constitution was amended on July 1, 1984. It requires that the Mississippi Governor shall appoint one (1) member from Mississippi's Northern Supreme Court District, one (1) member from Mississippi's Central Supreme Court District, one (1) member from Mississippi's Southern Supreme Court District, one (1) member who is employed as a school administrator, and one (1) member who is employed as a public school teacher. Additionally, the Lieutenant Governor shall appoint two (2) members at-large, and the Speaker of the Mississippi House of Representatives shall appoint two (2) members at-large.

Educational Priorities and Board Mission
In its role as a policy maker, the Board of Education has a Board of Education 5-Year Strategic Plan. To further its efforts to create a world-class education system, the Board has also published its legislative priorities for the 2015 legislative year. You can view the board's 2015 legislative priorities here.

Current Board Members

  Dr. John R. Kelly, Chair
Term expires July, 2020
2nd Supreme Court District Representative

City of Gulfport
Post Office Box 1780
Gulfport, MS, 39502-1780
Ph: 228-868-5770

Mrs. Rosemary G. Aultman, Vice-Chair
Term expires July, 2022
At-Large Representative

107 Caroline Cove
Clinton, MS 39056
Ph: 601-924-4830


Dr. Carey M. Wright, Executive Secretary
State Superintendent of Education

Mississippi Department of Education
P.O. Box 771
Jackson, MS 39205
Ph: 601-359-1750
Fax: 601-359-3242

Mr. Buddy Bailey
Term expires July, 2023
Administrator Representative

Rankin County School District
1220 Apple Park Place
Brandon, MS 39042
Ph: 601-825-5590


Mrs. Kami Bumgarner
Term expires July, 2018
Teacher Representative

Madison Middle School
1365 Mannsdale Road
Madison, MS 39110
Ph: 601-605-4171


Dr. Jason S. Dean
Term Expires July, 2024
At-Large Representative

600 Crescent Blvd, Suite B
Ridgeland, MS 39157
Ph: 601-664-8858


Dr. Karen Elam
Term Expires July, 2021
3rd Supreme Court District Representative

3805 Majestic Oaks Drive 
Oxford, MS 38655
Ph: 662-513-0705 

  Mr. Johnny Franklin
Term Expires July, 2016
1st Supreme Court District Representative

7750 Hwy. 22
Bolton, MS 39041
Ph: (601) 664-8363


Mr. William Harold Jones
Term expires July, 2017
At-Large Representative

P.O. Box 282
Petal, MS 39465
Ph: 601-545-8324
Fax: 601-545-8389


Mr. Charles McClelland
Term expires July, 2019
At-Large Representative

6252 Winthrop Circle
Jackson, MS 39206
Ph: 601-991-2412

Mississippi Department of Education     P.O. Box 771     Jackson, MS 39205-0771     General Information: 601-359-3513

Copyright © 2012 Mississippi Department of Education – Agency Web DisclaimerNotice of Non-Discrimination